Can you let it be?

Nita Sweeney
2 min readApr 21, 2024

“Once you realize that the road is the goal and that you are always on the road, not to reach a goal, but to enjoy its beauty and its wisdom, life ceases to be a task and becomes natural and simple, in itself an ecstasy.” — Nisargadatta Maharaj

I’m nothing short of driven. I have three college degrees, have run more than 125 races including three ultramarathons, and written ten more books
than I’ve published.

In 1992, my then boyfriend (now husband), Ed, noticed how miserable my future orientation made me. He introduced me to sitting practice. By “practice” I mean setting the microwave timer for five minutes and trying not to wriggle.

My mind screamed. I fidgeted. And, I did not die. With practice, my mind calmed.

Now, when I’m chasing a goal, I focus on the process. Medals, diplomas, and even books, will age. But the experience? That’s the prize.

Today’s Practice:

Use your breath as an entry to this moment.

Standing, sitting, lying down, or moving, feel your breath go in and out.

Does it rasp or flow? Does it feel uncomfortable or calm?

Can you let it be?

This excerpt is from A Daily Dose of Now: 365 Mindfulness Meditation Practices for Living in

--

--

Nita Sweeney

Bestselling author of A Daily Dose of NOW, Depression Hates a Moving Target and other books. Runner, mindful reality coach, mental health warrior, dog mom.