Thank You for Your Patience

How re-framing ‘I’m sorry’ changed the way I think about myself

Nita Sweeney
2 min readMar 10, 2020

--

Meme saying “Thank you for your patience. ~ Nita Sweeney”
Meme Credit: Nita Sweeney

Thank you for your patience

A friend recently posted an Ashley Stahl meme with alternatives to “I’m Sorry.”

“I’m sorry I’m late” became “Thank you for waiting for me.”

“I’m sorry I’m so needy” turned into “Thank you for being there for me.”

As someone whose brain transforms the mere hint of another person’s displeasure into the worst failure of my life, I found these subtle changes empowering.

Then I took it a step further and created a single one that fits most situations.

Especially during this dream-come-true publishing adventure, I’m learning, growing, and pushing my edges all while trying to relax into a “new normal.” Every great adventure comes with challenges, right? Challenges keep life interesting.

“Thank you for your patience as I figure out, all at the same time, how to do a bunch of things I have never done before.”

“Thank you for your patience when anxiety flips me into default habits and I overthink and over-analyze.”

“Thank you for your patience while I disappear for whole days in order to do the work before me.”

--

--

Nita Sweeney

Bestselling author of A Daily Dose of NOW, Depression Hates a Moving Target and other books. Runner, mindful reality coach, mental health warrior, dog mom.