There was this guy.

Nita Sweeney
4 min readDec 17, 2023

Wait. What? How did you start to meditate?

Man and woman in ski jackets standing in front of a house in Springfield, Ohio, USA.

Why did you first begin to meditate?

There was this guy.

On one of our early dates, he asked, “Wanna sit?” I shrugged. He set the microwave timer for five minutes and said, “Close your eyes. Notice your breath. Try not to fidget.”

I did as he instructed, peeking at the microwave clock every few seconds.

Five minutes felt like an hour. My mind raced. My breath disappeared.

I fidgeted.

While I continued to “sit” with him on a regular basis (I really liked him), I didn’t like to meditate. It felt weird, boring, and a little scary. It seemed like a waste of time. And it was sometimes uncomfortable. I wasn’t big on discomfort.

A few months later, I reached down to dry my feet after showering and my back went out. My back had been “going out” for years. I was in elementary school when I saw my first chiropractor. Untreated scoliosis, falling off horses, bad posture, and poor core stability made me the perfect candidate for back surgery. I wanted to avoid that.

While I continued to “sit” with him on a regular basis (I really liked him), I didn’t like to meditate.

I strengthened my core, aligned my spine, and tried to keep my back from going out…

--

--

Nita Sweeney

Bestselling author of A Daily Dose of NOW, Depression Hates a Moving Target and other books. Runner, mindful reality coach, mental health warrior, dog mom.